Map

Interactive Map Of Our Trail

Detailed Maps Of Trail Sections, Access Points, Camps, Teepees And More.

K - L (Coles Brook to Heath Steele Bridge)

 Distance

7 km

 Parking

Heath Steel Bridge

 Manager

Samuel Turcotte (samuel_turcotte7@hotmail.com)

 Trail Difficulty: Moderate to Hard

This section of the trail passes through outstanding stands of maple trees. At Cole’s Brook, consider taking an hour to explore up that picturesque brook. As you go up further towards Heath Steele Bridge, you will get to enjoy a flatter surface to walk on, as the trail uses bits of old abandoned roads.

L - M (Heath Steele Bridge to 40 mile Brook)

 Distance

6.5 km

 Parking

Heath Steel Bridge or 40 Mile Brook (4 km from Heath Steele-Nepisiguit River road split or the first bridge you encounter going upriver from that split). Access M needs a river crossing on foot.

 Manager

Alfred Arseneau a.arseneau@rogers.com

 Trail Difficulty: Moderate

This one is moderate in difficulty overall, but beware of a few gaps between big moss covered boulder rocks, where your foot can go thru, in the middle of this section. 2/3 of the trails, closest to Heath Steele runs on a high ridge and 1/3 by the river near 40 Mile Brook. You will appreciate many amazing old cedars and yellow birch, ferns and rock formations. Note that the access M needs a river crossing from the 40 Mile brook parking area (see parking section).

M - N (40 mile Brook to 44 mile Brook)

 Distance

6.5 km

 Sponsor

Adopt a section

 Parking

40 or 44 Mile Brook (needs river crossing), which are at 4 km and 9.5 km respectively from the road split Nepisiguit road / Heat Steele (430), or at the 2 first bridges you will encounter going upriver from that split.

 Manager

Alfred Arseneau a.arseneau@rogers.com

 Trail Difficulty: Moderate

Another gorgeous section, often hugging the river closely. The challenge if you want to hike that section only is the need to do 2 river crossings at the access M and N (see parking). The other challenge might be crossing Otter brook at high water levels in the spring and fall. We will eventually get a bridge there.

N - O (44 mile Brook to below Indian Falls)

 Distance

5 km

 Sponsor

Adopt a section

 Parking

44 Mile Brook or access road below Indian Falls (both need a river crossing). Access N and O are at 9.5 km and 14.7 km respectively from the Nepisiguit River / Heat Steele road split.

 Manager

Rod O'Connell roconnel@rogers.com

 Trail Difficulty: Moderate

The trail mostly hugs the river among cedar patches. The quiet and beautiful forest makes up for the roots and wet spots you have to deal with on this section of the trail. Note that if you hike that section only, you will need to do 2 river crossing on foot at both access.

O - P (Indian Falls to Indian Falls Depot)

 Distance

7.5 km

 Parking

Accès road below Indian Falls and Indian Falls Depot, which are at 14.7 km and 20.6 km respectively from the Nepisiguit road / Heat Steele split (430)

 Manager

Samuel Daigle (shopdaigle@gmail.com)

 Trail Difficulty: Moderate to Hard

This section of trail is fabulous in many ways. It passes by the impressive Indians Falls and through a nice mix of mature forest. It squeezes between a beaver pond and the river, where you can easily spot high bush cranberries in the fall. Note that if you hike that section only, you will have to do river crossings on foot at both access (see parking).

P - Q (Indian Falls Depot to Devil’s Elbow)

 Distance

8 km

 Sponsor

Adopt a section

 Parking

Indian Falls Depot and Devil's Elbow access roads, which are at 20.6 km and 27.5 km respectively from the Nepisiguit road / Heat Steele road split. Both access needs a river crossing on foot.

 Manager

Adopt a section

 Trail Difficulty: Moderate to Hard

This is one of the longest section and also gives you the opportunity to hike one of the best side trails on the Mi’gmaq Trail. About 1 km going upriver from Indian Falls Depot, look on your left as you see a bare mountain top. It’s Mount Denys. Not long after that, you will see pink flags going away from the trail towards the mountain top. You will go past Lost Lake before you get there. Be careful walking up the mountain as moss covers cracks between the boulders. It’ best to regularly poke with a stick before putting your foot down. We don’t encourage you to go right to the top, as it’s a protected area and the view is not better than climbing about ¾ of the way up. From the last pink flag, you will be rewarded by one of the best views of the province as you see the Nepisiguit River curving around almost as far as the eyes can see. As you make your way further upriver towards access Q, just below Emery's bogan, the trail will steer away a little bit from the river as it goes around private property and a piece of land flooded by beaver dams. Note that if you just do this section of the trail, you will need to do 2 river crossings at both access.

Q - R (Devil’s Elbow to Popple Depot)

 Distance

10.5 km

 Sponsor

Websolutions.ca

 Parking

Access road at Devil's Elbow (needs a river crossing on foot) and Popple Depot, which are 27.5 km and 35.8 km respectively from the Nepisiguit road / Heath Steele road split. Access R is on the south side of Popple Depot Bridge.

 Manager

Bruno Haché

 Trail Difficulty: Moderate to Hard

This section steers away a bit from the river at Blue Ledge because of wet lands and again before reaching Popple Depot, using an old road, as we need to access the old bridge to cross the Big South river branch. That old road stretches about 1 km from the old Governor Lodge to the Big South Bridge and another 2.5 km to Popple Depot. Note that access R is on the south side of Popple Depot Bridge and access Q needs a river crossing on foot (see parking). For these reasons and because of the lack of access roads, it is the second longest section, but doesn't have a lot of altitude changes and is definitively still beautiful even if it uses an old road for 3-4 km as you walk among stands of big trees and squeeze around big rock boulders. There is a nice cold spring on the trail about 2-3 km upriver from access Q (we still suggest filtering it).

R - S (Popple Depot to Pentland Brook)

 Distance

9 km

 Parking

Popple Depot near the bridge or at the Pentland Brook access road (S), but note that you will have to do a river crossing there to reach the trail

 Manager

Nat Bepperling

 Trail Difficulty: Moderate

This was the last section cut to complete the trail. From the south side of Popple Depot bridge, just across where you come out of the Nepisiguit South Branch road, you make about 100 meters across a mossy floor to an opening and small road leading to the rangers camp on your right. Share that a few meters before picking-up the single track trail in the forest just ahead. The trail follows the river passing Corker's Gulch and squezing in between Mount Latour and Mount Marie looking at each other from both sides of the river. Despite the increasing mountains as you make your way towards Mount Carleton, this section of the trail doesn't have too many elevation changes. Access S is at the level of Pentland brook which empties on the other side of the Nepisiguit River.

S - T (Pentland Brook to McEwen’s Bridge)

 Distance

7 km

 Sponsor

Adopt a section

 Parking

McEwen's Bridge or Pentland's Brook (but need to cross the river)

 Manager

Karl Branch

 Trail Difficulty: Moderate to Hard

This is a fairly easy trail as it uses for the most part an old service road. If you want to challenge yourself on this section however, you can take a side trail up to Bailey’s Chasm which starts from the trail about half a km past a small brook that is about 1 km above 69 Mile Brook. Be careful walking up the mountain as moss covers cracks between the boulders. It’ best to regularly poke with a stick before putting your foot down. The view from the ledge of that sheer drop however will certainly make up for your efforts.

T - U (McEwen’s Bridge to Bathurst Lake)

 Distance

11 km

 Sponsor

Adopt a section

 Parking

McEwen's Bridge or Bathurst Lake

 Manager

Nathalie Theriault

 Trail Difficulty: Moderate

This trail starts across the river from the end of the river road to the old McEwen’s Bridge (some remnants only). It takes you on an old service road to the Little South Branch which you will have to cross. After another km on another old abandoned road by the river, you reach Silver Brook. Contemplating Silver Brook meadow, it's hard to imagine much happened there in the past, but Mile 72 at the mouth of that brook on the Nepisiguit River, was the site of Silver Brook Farm. W.F. Ganong took pictures of that spot during his travels with Arthur Henry Pierce. It also supported lumber camp operations and was a supply storage area for lumbermen in the 1800s and the going into the early 1900s. The Bathurst Lumber Co had on this property, what was called a bearhouse, a depot used to store supplies for the lumbermen. Containing salt pork, flour, beans, corn meal and spices (the staple diet of lumbermen), it needed to be made proof by strong barricades against the assaults of marauding bears. The trail then passes in between Mount Teneriffe and Mount Cooney, through a fairytale like old growth mossy forest for about 6 km. Afterwards, it takes you on a shared but small and quiet service road for another 3-4 km until you reach the camps of Camp Lake and your final destination to Mount Carleton Park. You might want to enjoy a good night’s rest before tackling Mount Bailey, Sagamook and Carleton!

Be Part Of Our Volunteer Team Today

A tight-knit community of nature-loving volunteers. Want to join to soak in the benefits of reconnecting with nature and make a difference?

Talk With Us
Large 6
Large 1
Large powerprecision hires
Large 4
© Nepisiguit Mi’gmaq Trail. 2018 - All rights reserved.
Top

Map

Carte interactive de notre sentier

Cartes détaillées des sections de sentiers, points d'accès, camps, tipis et plus encore.

K - L (Ruisseau Coles au pont Heath Steele)

 Distance

7 km

 Commanditaire

Adoptez une section

 Stationnement

Pont Heath Steele

 Gestionnaire

Samuel Turcotte (samuel_turcotte7@hotmail.com)

 Difficulté du sentier: Modéré à difficile

Cette partie de sentier traverse un bosquet d’érables absolument remarquable. À Coles Brook, prenez une heure de plus pour explorer le long de ce ruisseau et y capturer des photos exceptionnelles. En approchant Heat Steele Bridge, le sentier s'aplati davantage, utilisant une ancienne route abandonnée.

L - M (Pont Heath Steele au ruisseau 40 mile)

 Distance

6.5 km

 Commanditaire

Power Precision

 Stationnement

Coté sud du Pont Heath Steele le long du chemin ou au ruisseau 40 Mile qui est à 4 km en haut de la jonction route Nepisiguit-Heath Steele ou juste avant le premier pont rencontré en haut de cette jonction.

 Gestionnaire

Alfred Arseneau a.arseneau@rogers.com

 Difficulté du sentier: Modéré

En général, il s'agit d'un niveau de difficulté modéré, mais on doit faire attention à quelques endroits de ne pas passer son pied au travers de la mousse couvrant des grosses roches au milieu de cette section. 2/3 du sentier parcours le haut de la falaise (vers Heat Steele) et l'autre tier suit le rebord de la rivière plus près du ruisseau 40 Mile. Vous serez sûrement impressionné par les multiples vieux cèdres et bouleaux jaunes, les fougères et les formations rocheuses. À noter que l'accès M nécessite une traversée de rivière. (voir stationnement)

M - N (Ruisseau 40 Mile au ruisseau 44 Mile)

 Distance

6.5 km

 Commanditaire

Adoptez une section

 Stationnement

Ruisseau 40 ou 44 mile (nécessitent une traversée de rivière). Ces 2 accès sont à 4 km et 9.5 km de la jonction route Nepisiguit / Heat Steele (430) ou aux 2 premiers ponts que vous aller rencontrer en montant à partir de cette croisée de chemin.

 Gestionnaire

Alfred Arseneau a.arseneau@rogers.com

 Difficulté du sentier: Modéré

Une autre superbe section suivant souvent la rivière de très près. Un inconvénient si vous désirer ne faire que cette section, est de devoir faire 2 traversée de rivière au accès M et N (voir stationnement). L'autre difficulté possible est de traverser le ruisseau Otter surtout au printemps et à l'automne lors de niveau élevé d'eau. Nous planifions y ajouter un pont éventuellement.

N - O (44 mile Brook à Indian Falls)

 Distance

5 km

 Commanditaire

Adoptez une section

 Stationnement

Ruisseau 44 mile ou au chemin d'accès en bas de Indian Falls (nécessitent une traversée de rivière). Ces accès N et O sont à 9.5 km et 14.7 km respectivement de la croisée de chemin Nepisiguit / Heath Steele (430).

 Gestionnaire

Rod O'Connell roconnel@rogers.com

 Difficulté du sentier: Modéré

La plupart du sentier longe la rivière de tout près, parmi des peuplements de cèdres. Le calme et la beauté de la forêt compense pour les inconvénients des nombreuses racines et sections de terrain humide qui tapissent ce bout de sentier. À noter que si vous ne faite que cette section, les 2 accès nécessitent des traversée de rivière à pied.

O - P (Indian Falls à Indian Falls Depot)

 Distance

7.5 km

 Commanditaire

Cette section est disponible pour le parrainage. Écrivez-nous à info@migmaqtrail.ca pour plus de détails.

 Stationnement

Chemins d'accès en bas de Indian Falls et Indian Falls Depot, qui sont à 14.7 km et 20.6 km recpectivement à partir de la croisée de chemin Nepisiguit / Heat Steele (430). Ces 2 accès nécesitent des traversées de rivière à pied.

 Gestionnaire

Steve Kennah

 Difficulté du sentier: Modéré à difficile

V



Cette section du sentier est incroyable pour plusieurs raisons. Vous passerez au côté des chutes "Indians" et traverserez une magnifique forêt mixte mature. En traversant une chaussée de castor, vous noterez aussi la présence de pimbina (high bush cranberry) en automne. Notez que si vous ne faites que cette section, vous aurez besoin de faire des traversées de rivière à pied aux 2 accès. (voir stationnement)

P - Q (Indian Falls Depot à Devil’s Elbow)

 Distance

8 km

 Commanditaire

Adoptez une section

 Stationnement

Indian Falls Depot et route d'accès de Devil's Elbow, qui sont à 20.6 km et 27.5 km respectivement à partir de la croisée de chemin de la route Nepisiguit / Heath Steele. Ces 2 accès nécessitent des traversées de rivière.

 Gestionnaire

Réjean Roy

 Difficulté du sentier: Modéré à difficile

Ceci est une des plus longue section et vous donne la chance d'y ajouter une des plus belle excursion supplémentaire en gravissant le Mont Denys à partir de cette section. À environ 1 km en remontant la rivière à partir de Indian Falls depot,  regardez les sommets de montagne à gauche et vous verrez qu’il y a un sommet dénudé d'arbres; c’est le mont Denys. Un peu plus loin, regardez pour des rubans roses qui indiquent la direction du sentier à suivre. Vous passerez aux abord de Lost Lake en route vers le sommet. Attention où vous placez le pied durant l’ascension, car il y a des fissures cachées par la mousse entre les roches. Avec un bâton de marche, tâtonner pour vous assurer que le prochain pas soit sécuritaire. Il n’est pas encouragé de se rendre au sommet, car celui-ci est un endroit protégé / désigné. De toute façon, la vue n'y est vraiment pas plus belle au sommet. Le plus beau point de vue est au trois quarts du sommet, au dernier ruban rose. On peut y admirer la rivière Nepisiguit qui serpente autour des montagnes pour des dizaines de km, autant vers son origine que vers sa destination. Continuant votre chemin en remontant la rivière vers l'accès Q, le sentier s'éloignera un peu de la rivière avant Emery's Bogan, ayant besoin de contourner des propriétés privées et des terres inondées par les chaussées de castor. À noter que si vous ne faites que cette section de sentier, vous aurez besoin d'effectuer des traversées de rivière aux 2 accès. (voir stationnement)

Q - R (Devil’s Elbow à Popple Depot)

 Distance

10.5 km

 Commanditaire

Adoptez une section

 Stationnement

Chemin d'accès de Devil's Elbow et Popple Depot, à 27.5 km et 35.8 km respectivement de la croisée de chemin Nepisiguit / Heath Steele. L'accès Q nécessite une traversée de rivière à pied et l'accès R est du côté sud du pont de Popple Depot.

 Gestionnaire

Bruno Haché

 Difficulté du sentier: Modéré à difficile

Cette section s'éloigne un peu de la rivière en raison de terres humides aux environs de Blue Ledge et du besoin d'utiliser un vieux pont traversant la branche de rivière "Big South", près de Popple Depot. Le sentier utilise une vieille route sur environ 1 km du vieux pavillon du Gouverneur au pont sur la "Big South" et sur un autre 2.5 km jusqu'à Popple Depot. À noter que l'access R se trouve sur le côté sud du Pont de Popple Depot et que l'accès Q nécessite une traversée de rivière à pied (voir stationnement). Pour ces raisons et à cause du manque d'accès, cette section sera la 2e plus longue, mais elle contient peu de grands dénivellés et malgré le fait qu'elle utilise une vieille route sur 3-4 km, le paysage demeure fantastique avec des grands arbres et contournant des grandes roches. Il y a une belle source froide à environ 2-3 km en haut de l'accès Q sur le sentier (nous suggérons tout de même de filtrer l'eau).

R - S (Popple Depot au ruisseau Pentland)

 Distance

9 km

 Commanditaire

Adoptez une section

 Stationnement

: Popple Depot

 Gestionnaire

Nat Bepperling

 Difficulté du sentier: Modéré

Ceci fut la dernière section coupée pour compléter le sentier. Do côté sud du pont de Popple Depot, juste en face d'où le sentier sort sur le chemin de la branche sud Nepisiguit, vous allez faire une centaine de mètres dans un sol de mousse avant d'arriver à une petite route qui mène au chalet des gardes forestiers à votre droite. Partagez ce chemin sur quelques mètres avant de reprendre le sentier boisé en face. Le sentier longe la rivière d'assez près, passant par Corker's Gulch et entre les monts Marie et Latour qui se regardent de chaque côté de la rivière. Malgré les montagnes qui se font de plus en plus fréquentes à mesure que vous approchez le parc du Mont Carleton, cette section de sentier ne contient pas beaucoup de changement d'élévations. L'accès S est au niveau du ruisseau Pentland qui débouche de l'autre côté de la rivière Nepisiguit.

S - T (Ruisseau Pentland au Pont McEwen)

 Distance

7 km

 Commanditaire

Adoptez une section

 Stationnement

Ruisseau Pentland ou pont McEwen (mais on doit traverser la rivière)

 Gestionnaire

Karl Branch

 Difficulté du sentier: Modéré à difficile

Cette section est relativement facile, car elle utilise pour la majeure partie une vieille route de service. Par contre, si vous voulez un bon défi, il y a un sentier adjacent qui se rend à Bailey’s Chasm. Celui-ci débute environ un kilomètre en haut du ruisseau 69 Mile. Il est bien utile sur ce flanc de montagne de tâtonner le terrain avec un baton avant d'y poser le pied, car la mousse peut cacher des fissures entre les roches. Soyez assuré que la vue du sommet de ce gouffre impressionnant en vaut l'effort.

T - U (Pont McEwen à Bathurst Lake)

 Distance

11 km

 Commanditaire

Adoptez une section

 Stationnement

Pont McEwen ou Bathurst Lake

 Gestionnaire

Nathalie Theriault

 Difficulté du sentier: Modéré

Cette partie du sentier débute de l’autre côté de la rivière de la route au vieux pont McEwan (il n’en reste que des vestiges). Cette section emprunte une route de service abandonnée où il faudra traverser le ruisseau Little South Branch. Après un kilomètre sur le même genre de route, il faudra traverser aussi le ruisseau Silver Brook. Contemplant la belle prairie présente, il est difficile maintenant d’imaginer que ce fut le site de beaucoup d’activités dans le passé. Aussi marqué comme Mile 72 à l’embouchure de ce ruisseau sur la rivière Nepisiguit, il y avait la ferme Silver Brook. Avec Arthur Henry Pierce, W.F. Ganong a pris des photos de ces installations durant ses périples sur la rivière Nepisiguit. Ce site a également soutenu des opérations de camp de bûcherons et fut une zone de stockage et d’approvisionnement pour l’industrie du bois dans les années 1800 jusqu’au début des années 1900. Le Bathurst Lumber Co avait ce qu’on appelait un « bearhouse », un hangar utilisé pour stocker les fournitures nécessaires pour les bûcherons. Contenant du porc salé, farine, haricots, farine de maïs et d’épices (l’alimentation de base des bûcherons), il fallait que cet immeuble soit fortement barricadé pour résister aux assauts des ours. Le sentier passe ensuite entre le Mont Teneriffe et le Mont Cooney à travers une ancienne forêt enchantée pendant 6-7 km. Pour les derniers trois à quatre kilomètres, le sentier suit une vieille route de service jusqu’aux chalets de Camp Lake. Une bonne nuit de sommeil est conseillée avant de vous attaquer à gravir le Mont Bailey, Sagamook et Carleton.

Faites parti de notre belle communauté

Une merveilleuse communauté de bénévoles amants de la nature. Vous voulez vous joindre pour en tirer les bénéfices de renouer avec la nature et faire une différence?

Parlez avec nous
Large 6
Large le camping logo completed final
Large 3
Large city crest   high resolution
© Sentier Nepisiguit Mi’gmaq. 2019 - Tous droits réservés.
Top