Tortuee

Trail History

The Nepisiguit Mi’gmaq Trail, follows the shoreline of the Nepisiguit River for about 150 km from Daly Point nature reserve to the foothills of Mount Carleton. It was used by the Mi’gmaq people for thousands of years for a variety of purposes, including access to tribal hunting, fishing, trapping, and gathering sites, spring and fall migration, as well as a thoroughfare over which the Mi’gmaq traveled to interact and trade with other First Nation communities.  

This historic artery into the New-Brunswick wilderness is rich in cultural heritage sites, which date back much earlier than historical records would indicate. Fragments of stone tools have been recovered from archeological sites along the river which date back some 5000 years. Rock blinds used for hunting caribou can still be found along the trail.

A Mi’gmaq Trail restoration was first initiated by the Pabineau First Nation in 1985. In addition to promoting a public appreciation and respect for the historical, ecological, and cultural relevance of this thoroughfare to the Mi’gmaq, the restoration of this ancient trail system was undertaken to explore economic development opportunities in the areas of wilderness hiking, eco-tourism, and adventure tourism.  The first 2 years were mostly used to gather some information and flag the route. In 1998, the first part of the trail was completed from Pabineau Falls going up towards Mount Carleton. Up to 1999, funds were still available to help restore the trail. However, the footbridge that was supposed to cross the river for access to the trail was never built.  The trail was not used and maintenance was abandoned. 

    M. Rod O’Connell decided in 2004 to gather information about the trail and organize a hike during the fall of 2005. From 2005 to 2011, a lot of efforts were spent by M. O’Connell and his team of volunteers to get an official license of occupation to maintain the Mi’gmaq Trail. Applications were lost or put aside and after years of trying to have all the papers in order, efforts were abandoned.

    In 2014 M. O’Connell, still very active in the community, was attending a NB trails meeting and brought up the subject of the Mi’gmaq Trail to a few very attentive ears. By that time, the trail was not used, grown over and practically lost. They convinced M. O’Connell to help them give it another shot and over that winter, gathered volunteers to plan another restoration of the trail. They got a good support from Pabineau First Nation to undertake work in the spring of 2015.

    In the summer of 2015, the Friends of the Nepisiguit Mi'gmaq Trail group gathered more than 40 volunteers to flag and cut approximately 30 km of beautiful trail from the Pump House in Rough Waters to the Chains of Rocks. Pabineau First Nation supplied workers during many weeks for this project. Volunteers took time from their busy schedule, payed their own gas and supplied the equipment.
In 2016, huge progress was made again. With as many volunteers, the help of 2 youth program workers, financial support from Pabineau First Nation and a grant received through NB Trails, a section of the trail was secured from Daly Point Reserve in Bathurst all the way to Heath Steele Bridge. Another section of 12 km was added from Bathurst Lake in Mount Carleton Park to McEwen’s Bridge. Ten access roads were marked and cleaned. A major cleanup was organized along the Nepisiguit River at Roughwaters, overfilling an extra-large dumpster and 2 ton trucks. Some camping platforms were also built in that fall. 

    In October of 2016, the first annual Défi Nepisiguit Challenge was hosted with the help of the city of Bathurst and Pabineau First Nation. The race, by CARA guidelines (Canadian Adventure Race Association), starting from Mt Carleton had participants run, mountain bike and canoe their way to Daly’s Point Reserve in Bathurst. It was a huge success. 

    In 2017, the existing trail was improved and 25 km of new trail was added; that is from 44 Mile Brook to Indian Falls Depot and from 69 Mile Brook to McEwen’s Bridge. In order to avoid new camp settlements everywhere, some canvas teepees were erected, as well as more camping platforms. Fire rings were also improved in the safest locations possible. The safety of the trail was improved with steps on steep hills, rails and rope bridges and more trail & kilometer markers. The whole trail was also divided with 21 access points at about 7 kilometers, with signs Access “A” to “U”. Signs of trail maps and good hiking and camping practices were posted in the most frequented areas.

    In 2018, with the help of countless volunteers and 4 summer students, the sections P-Q-R-S were completed despite of many days of extreme hot weather. The trail was finished on August 23rd and a celebration took place at Governor's Lodge with a big crowd.

Be Part Of Our Volunteer Team Today

A tight-knit community of nature-loving volunteers. Want to join to soak in the benefits of reconnecting with nature and make a difference?

Talk With Us
Large powerprecision hires
Large city crest   high resolution
Large 3
Large le camping logo completed final
© Nepisiguit Mi’gmaq Trail. 2018 - All rights reserved.
Top

Tortuee

    Le sentier Nepisiguit Mi’gmaq suit le côté sud de la rivière Nepisiguit sur environ 150 km, de la réserve de la Pointe Daly jusqu'au pied du Mont Carleton. Ce sentier historique fut utilisé par les premières nations Mi’gmaq depuis des millénaires, soit pour accéder à la chasse ou la pêche ou cueillette selon les saisons. Les autochtones voyageaient aussi pour interagir et échanger avec les autres communautés.

    Cette artère historique au coeur de terrain sauvage du Nouveau-Brunswick est riche en sites culturels, datant d'encore plus loin que les premiers records voulaient indiquer. Des fragments d'outils de pierre furent retrouvées à partir de sites archéologiques le long de la rivière, certains datant de 5000 ans. Des écrans de roches utilisés pour la chasse du caribou peuvent encore être retrouvés le long de ce sentier.

    La restauration du sentier Mi’gmaq a été initié par les premières nations de Pabineau en 1985. En plus de promouvoir une appréciation et un respect de l'héritage culturel, la restauration de ce sentier historique fut entrepris pour tenter un développement économique avec de l'écotourisme responsable. Les 2 premières années ont surtout servies à recueillir l'information et marquer le sentier. En 1998, la 1ère partie du sentier fut complétée des chutes Pabineau allant vers le mont Carleton. Jusqu'à 1999, des fonds furent encore alloués pour aider à restaurer le sentier. Par contre, un pont censé traverser la rivière pour accéder au début du sentier ne voit jamais le jour. Le sentier est alors très peu utilisé et la maintenance est abandonnée.

    M. Rod O’Connell décide en 2004 d'amasser de l'information à propos du sentier et organise une randonnée en automne 2005. De 2005à 2011, beaucoup d'effort est déployé par Rod et son équipe de bénévoles pour tenter d'obtenir les permis nécessaires pour maintenir le sentier. Des applications sont perdues ou mises de côté et après des années d'acharnement, les efforts sont abandonnés.

    En 2014,  M. O’Connell, toujours très actif dans sa communauté, participait à une rencontre de Sentier NB et aborde le sujet du sentier Mi'gmaq à quelques oreilles bien attentives. Par ce temps, le sentier est presqu'entièrement repoussé et perdu. Quelques bénévoles présents convainquent M. O’Connell de les aider à se donner une autre chance et durant cet hiver là, ce petit groupe prépare un plan de restauration. Ils ont un bon support des premières nations de Pabineau pour débuter les travaux au printemps de 2015.

    Durant l'été de 2015, les amis du sentier Nepisiguit Mi'gmaq assemblent plus de 40 bénévoles pour marquer et couper environ 30 km de sentier, entre la Pump House de Rough Waters jusqu'aux Chaines of Roche. Les premières nations de Pabineau fournissent des travaillants pendant plusieurs semaines également. Les bénévoles prennent du temps de leurs horaires déjà chargée, payent leur essence et fournissent l'équipement.

    En 2016, des grands progrès voient encore le jour. Avec autant de bénévoles, l'aide de 2 programmes étudiants, un support financier des premières nations de Pabineau et d'une subvention de la province du NB reconnaissant nos efforts, le sentier est maintenant en grande partie terminé de la réserve de la Pointe-Daly jusqu'au pont de Heath Steele. Une autrre section de 12 km est aussi ajoutée du lac Bathurst au Mont Carleton, jusqu'au pont McEwen. 10 routes d'accès sont marquées et nettoyées. Un nettoyage majeur est effectué près de Roughwater aux sites de dépotoirs improvisés. Les premières plateformes de camping sont également bâties durant l'automne.

    En octobre 2016, le premier Défi Nepisiguit Challenge est organisé par la ville de Bathurst et les premières nations de Pabineau. Cette course de 2 jours nécessite l'usage de vélo de montagne, course dans les sentiers et canoe pour parcourir 150 km du Mont Carleton jusqu'à Bathurst. Ce fut un grand succès.

    En 2017, le sentier existant est d'avantage amélioré et 25 km de nouveau sentier y est ajouté, du ruisseau 44 mile à Indian Falls Depot et du ruisseau 69 mile au pont McEwen. Afin d'éviter l'établissement de campements n'importe où, d'autres plateformes sont construits et les premiers teepees sont installés. Des anneaux de feu sont améliorés aux meilleurs endroits possibles. La sécurité est aussi améliorée en ajoutant des marches rudimentaires dans certaines côtes et des ponts de cordes permettent maintenant des traversées de ruisseau à sec. On y ajoute aussi des marqueurs de km et le sentier est divisé en 20 sections avec des points d'accès ("A" à "U" à environ tous les 7 km. Des enseignes de carte du sentier et de bonne étiquette du randonneur et campeur sont érigées aux endroits stratégiques.

    En 2018, les sections P-Q-R-S furent complétées à l'aide d'inombrables bénévoles dévoués et 4 étudiants d'été, ceci malgré de nombreux jours avec chaleur extrême. Les derniers mètres du sentiers furent coupés le 23 août, suivi par une célébration au Chalet du Gouverneur près de Popple Depot, en compagnie d'une grande foule.

Faites parti de notre belle communauté

Une merveilleuse communauté de bénévoles amants de la nature. Vous voulez vous joindre pour en tirer les bénéfices de renouer avec la nature et faire une différence?

Parlez avec nous
Large powerprecision hires
Large vertical color
Large 1
Large logo
© Sentier Nepisiguit Mi’gmaq. 2019 - Tous droits réservés.
Top