Tortuee

Multi-day Hikes on the Mi’gmaq Trail - A Guide

If you would like to download this page as a PDF please click here.

Introduction: The Mi’gmaq Trail offers some of the most scenic and diverse terrain in eastern North America. Beginning at a pristine lake near the base of Mt. Carleton, the Maritime’s highest peak, the Trail largely follows the Nepisiquit River on its 150 kilometer journey to the seaside municipality of Bathurst. It is remote. It is wild. It is an exquisite opportunity to commute with nature. It is also physically and mentally demanding and potentially hazardous. This document is a guide for those planning a multi-day hike on the Trail. It will help make your adventure a safe and enjoyable one but be aware, hikers on the Mi’gmaq Trail do so at their own risk. Great hiking everyone!

State of the Trail (as of Oct 1, 2018): The Mi’gmaq Trail officially opened on August 23, 2018. It is identified mostly with blue flagging tape. About 80% of the Trail has also been signed with distinct turtle markers on clear 10 cm x 13 cm acrylic (see adjoining photo). Similar sized turtle signs (ie.10 cm x 13 cm) on a white background are used on Access Paths. Where Access Paths join the Mi’gmaq Trail, hikers will see large 20 cm x 25 cm Access Point signs inscribed with a letter and turtle on a white background. See section below, “Access Points and Paths” for more information.

Other signs identifying key locations, kilometer postings, camp sites, etc are in place but only for the 50 km section closest to Bathurst.

Tip for following the trail: Regularly monitor your position on the Trail with a map, compass and GPS. When you arrive at intersections, diverging roads, sharp turns or areas with intersecting flagged trails (unfortunately flagging tapes are also used by prospectors, surveyors, etc), take the extra time to look for the next turtle sign in order to take the proper trail. If you don’t see turtle signs, you can turn and look back to see if signs have been posted in the opposite direction (some sections of the trail have yet to be signed in both directions).

Hiking Times 6 to 12 days: To complete the entire Mi’gmaq Trail (150 Km) hiking times can vary between 6 (25 km/d) and 12 (12.5 km/d) days depending on the weather, trail conditions and one’s individual ability. Plan for delays and allocate extra time. Note as well, the Trail crosses several roads but there are no towns nor revitalization points what-so-ever for the entire length of the Trail! In Mt Carleton Park there are no services and the nearest town is 30 km away. You must arrive with all your essentials - camping gear, food, water and of course a full tank of gas.

In addition to the full-length hike, many shorter multi-day hikes are also available on the Mi’gmaq Trail. Among the most popular are treks going in either direction from Access Point L (Heath Steele Bridge) the approximate mid-point of the Mi’gmaq Trail and a 2-3 day outing between Access Point A (Bathurst) and Access Point E (Middle Landing).

Access Points and Paths: Positioned along the Mi’gmaq Trail are 21 Access Points and Access Paths used by day hikers, search and rescue teams and maintenance crews to reach different segments of the Trail. Each Access Point is identified by a letter - A through U. See the Table below. Along the Trail the Access Points are visible on 20 cm x 25 cm signs with their letter and a turtle. The Access Paths are marked with 10 cm x 13 cm turtle signs with a white background (ie. the turtle signs with clear acrylic backgrounds are reserved for the Mi’gmaq Trail only and turtle signs with white backgrounds are for the access paths only!)

The distance between Access Points on the Trail varies from 4 to 11 Km. It is extremely important for multi-day hikers to become familiar with the Access Points and their associated Paths before departing on a multi-day hike. Make sure you mark them on your maps and GPS device. Many hikers, due to blisters, weather, time constraints, etc are unable to complete their journey and these Access Points provide the best means to exit the trail, find a road and flag down a vehicle.

The easiest Points to exit are R, L and E where the Trail crosses a road with vehicle traffic. Hikers are forewarned that traffic at Points R and L on the Nepisiquit River Road (dirt) is often intermittent and that the wait for a lift may take hours. Point E is on a well traveled paved road – Route 360.

Exiting via Access Points T, S, Q, P, O, N, and M require wading across the Nepisiquit River which in the spring and fall can be prohibitively high and/or cold. Once across the river only short hikes (50 -500 meters) are necessary to reach the Nepisiquit River Road (dirt) but hikers exiting at T and S remain quite remote and should make their way to R where the Nepisiquit River Road junctions with the Portage Road (also dirt). To repeat, traffic on the Nepisiquit River Road can be intermittent and hikers should be prepared to wait for hours before being able to flag down a vehicle.

Departing the Mi’gmaq Trail via Access Points F, G, H, I, J and K involves hiking along access paths/logging roads 1.5 to 9 km to attain Taylor Brook Road itself a dirt road sparingly traveled (ie. prepare for hours of waiting). Exiting via Point D also involves crossing the Nepisiquit River but it is too deep to wade so, realistically, this access point is for emergency access point only and not a practical exit for hikers (unless they happen to be carrying an inflatable raft...).

Who Should participate in multi-day hikes on the Mi’gmaq Trail? Hiking the full length of the Mi’gmaq Trail should only be attempted by persons who are physically fit, have good wilderness navigation skills and are experienced in back-country travel and backpacking. Terrain on the Mi’gmaq Trail can be challenging especially on the 100 km section between Mt. Carleton Park and the Nepisiquit Dam. You will encounter rocky, steep and often sloped terrain as the trail hugs the river’s edge as much as possible. You will need to navigate through mud, bogs, fast flowing brooks and over unstable boulders, dead-fall and slick rocks. It is recommended that at least one person in your group have training in wilderness first aid. The area is remote and in case of accidents and injuries, it may take more than 24 hours for help to arrive once word has reached the Bathurst detachment of the RCMP (see section In Case of Emergency below).

Multi-day hiking on the Mi’gmaq Trail should not be attempted by novice hikers especially on the section between Mt. Carleton and the Nepisiquit Dam. Individuals who have previously injured their ankles, knees, back, or other joints may experience flare-ups while hiking the Mi’gmaq Trail. To avoid unnecessary problems, test your strength and endurance on shorter, less demanding backpacking trips prior to hiking the full length of the Mi’gmaq Trail. Hiking with a partner or in a small group is strongly recommended. When choosing a hiking group make sure you choose compatible companions and stay together!

It is highly recommended to be equipped with a GPS and a SPOT or INREACH device. Make sure you know how these devices function and have tested them prior to hiking the Mi’gmaq Trail. Cell phone coverage for most of the Trail is not available!

Hiking Direction: The Mi’gmaq Trail can be hiked in either direction although the most popular option appears to be from Mt. Carleton Park to Daley Point largely because of more secure and plentiful parking at the latter.

Hiking Season

  • Spring – mid June to early July
    Before mid-June many of the Trail’s brooks (approximately 25) are impassible due to melting snow in the higher altitudes. After mid-June be aware of weather conditions which could impact water levels. Water in the brooks is glacial. Suggest carrying light sneakers for crossings to protect feet from cold and rocks and keep hiking boots dry (er). Frosts are possible. The black flies will make your trip miserable in June without adequate protection.
  • Summer – early July to late August
    For many hikers, summer’s warmer temperatures make this the preferred time to hike the Mi’gmaq Trail. Water levels usually drop significantly making fording brooks easier (light sneakers still strongly recommended). Expect some black-flies and mosquitoes.
  • Fall – late August to early October
    Cooler temperatures and fewer insects position the fall as an excellent choice for hiking the Mi’gmaq Trail. Expect wetter conditions and possible night frosts later in September and into October.

Reservations – At present reservations are not required to hike the Mi’gmaq Trail. If camping at Mt. Carleton Park is included in your plans please consult their website for availability and fees. (https://www.tourismnewbrunswick.ca/Products/Parks/MountCarletonProvincialPark.aspx)

Fees – At present there are no fees to hike the Mi’gmaq Trail but donations made via the “Home” page of the Trail’s website (https://www.migmaqtrail.ca/en) are greatly appreciated. Funds will be used to maintain and upgrade the Trail.

Registration - At present there is no registration to hike the Mi’gmaq Trail.

Shuttle Service: Hikers doing the full length of the Mi’gmaq Trail will need to arrange return transportation as the start and finish of this Trail are 146 kilometers apart (2.5 hours drive including 16 km inside Mt. Carleton Park to reach the start/end of the Trail). We recommend leaving your car at the finish and arranging for a lift to take you to the start of the route. Nepisiquit Adventures of Bathurst, NB can provide a shuttle service (506-252-3050, https://www.nepisiguitadventures.com/index).

GPS track files: A GPS track for the Mi’gmaq Trail is presently not available.

Maps: Maps of The Mi’gmaq Trail are best found on the Mi’gmaq Trail Website under the Maps tab. Click here. The trail is broken into 20 segments with a description of each and information on Access Points and interesting features.

Trip plan - Before you leave for your hike, prepare a trip plan and leave it with a responsible person (e.g., friend or family member). Detail where you are going, with whom, when you plan to return, and what to do if you do not return as planned. Check out adventuresmart.ca for advice on creating a trip plan and sample trip plans.

First Aid - The area is remote and in case of accidents and injuries, it may take more than 24 hours for help to arrive once authorities have been informed of your predicament (see In Case of Emergency below). You must be self-reliant. It is recommended that at least one person in the party have wilderness first aid training. Carry a first aid kit suitable for blisters, cuts, sprains, breaks and insect bites.

Tortuee

Randonnées de plusieurs jours sur le Sentier Mi’gmaq - Un Guide

Si vous souhaitez télécharger cette page au format PDF cliquez ici.

Introduction: Le sentier Mi’gmaq offre des terrains parmi les plus pittoresques et les plus diversifiés de l’est de l’Amérique du Nord. Commençant à un lac vierge près de la base du Mont-Carleton, le plus haut sommet des Maritimes, le sentier suit en grande partie la rivière Nepisiquit lors de son trajet de 150 km jusqu’à la municipalité balnéaire de Bathurst. Il est éloigné. Il est sauvage. Il présente une immersion inoubliable en nature. Il est également physiquement et mentalement exigeant et comporte des risques. Ce document est un guide pour ceux qui prévoient une randonnée de plusieurs jours sur le sentier. Cela contribuera à rendre votre aventure agréable, mais sachez que les randonneurs sur le sentier Mi’gmaq le font à leur propre risque. Bonne randonnée à tous!


Conseil pour suivre le sentier: Surveillez régulièrement votre position sur le sentier avec une carte, une boussole et un GPS. Lorsque vous arrivez à des intersections, des routes divergentes, des virages serrés ou des zones d’intersections de sentiers balisés (malheureusement, les prospecteurs, les arpenteurs-géomètres utilisent aussi des rubans), prenez le temps nécessaire pour rechercher le prochain panneau de tortue afin de suivre le bon sentier. Si vous ne voyez pas les panneaux avec les tortues, vous pouvez vous retourner et voir si des panneaux ont été placés dans la direction opposée (certaines sections du sentier doivent encore être balisées dans les deux sens).

Durée des randonnées de 6 à 12 jours: Pour compléter l’ensemble du sentier Mi’gmaq (150 km), les durées des randonnées peuvent varier de 6 (25 km/j) à 12 (12.5 km/j) jours, en fonction de la météo, des conditions du sentier et de vos capacités. Planifiez les retards et allouez-vous du temps supplémentaire. Notez également que le sentier traverse plusieurs routes, mais il n’y a ni villes ni points de revitalisation sur toute la longueur du sentier! Au parc Mont-Carleton Park, il n'y a pas de services et la ville la plus proche est à 30 km. Vous devez arriver avec tout ce dont vous avez besoin: équipement de camping, nourriture, eau et bien sûr, un réservoir d'essence plein.

En plus de la randonnée complète, de nombreuses randonnées plus courtes, sur plusieurs jours, sont également disponibles sur le sentier Mi’gmaq. Les randonnées les plus populaires sont les randonnées allant du point d’accès L (pont de Heath Steele) à peu près au milieu du sentier Mi’gmaq et une sortie de deux à trois jours entre les points d’accès A (Bathurst) et E (Middle Landing).

Points d’accès et chemins: Le long du sentier Mi’gmaq, 21 points d’accès et chemins d’accès sont utilisés par les randonneurs de journée, les équipes de recherche et sauvetage et les équipes d’entretien qui veulent atteindre les différents segments du sentier. Chaque point d'accès est identifié par une lettre - de A à U. Voir le tableau ci-dessous. Le long du sentier, les points d'accès sont visibles sur des panneaux de 20 cm x 25 cm avec leur lettre et une tortue. Les chemins d’accès sont signalés par des panneaux de tortue de 10 cm x 13 cm avec un fond blanc (c.-à-d. que les panneaux de tortue avec des fonds acryliques clairs sont réservés au sentier Mi’gmaq et que les panneaux de tortues ayant un fond blanc sont réservés aux chemins d’accès!)

La distance entre les points d'accès sur le sentier varie de 4 à 11 km. Il est extrêmement important que les randonneurs de plusieurs jours se familiarisent avec les points d’accès et leurs sentiers avant de partir pour une randonnée de plusieurs jours. Assurez-vous de les indiquer sur vos cartes et dans votre appareil GPS. De nombreux randonneurs, en raison d’ampoules, de conditions météorologiques, de contraintes de temps, etc., sont incapables de terminer leur voyage et ces points d'accès constituent le meilleur moyen de sortir du sentier, de trouver une route et de signaler un véhicule.

Les points les plus faciles à sortir du sentier sont R, L et E où le sentier traverse une route avec de la circulation de véhicules. Les randonneurs sont prévenus que la circulation aux points R et L sur le Nepisiguit River Road (chemin de terre) est souvent intermittente et que l'attente d’une voiture peut prendre des heures. Point E se trouve sur une route goudronnée très fréquentée- la route 360.

La sortie via les points d'accès T, S, Q, P, O, N et M nécessite de patauger à travers la rivière Nepisiguit qui, au printemps et à l'automne, peut être excessivement haute et/ou froide. Une fois la rivière traversée, une courte randonnée (50 à 500 mètres) est nécessaire pour atteindre le Nepisiguit River Road (chemin de terre), mais les randonneurs qui partent à T et S restent assez éloignés et doivent se rendre à R où le Nepisiguit River Road se croise avec le Portage Road (aussi un chemin de terre). Pour répéter, la circulation sur le Nepisiguit River Road peut être intermittente et les randonneurs doivent être prêts à attendre pendant des heures avant l’arrivée d’un véhicule.

En partant du sentier Mi’gmaq par les points d’accès F, G, H, I, J et K, il faut faire de la randonnée le long des chemins d’accès / chemins forestiers sur une distance de 1,5 à 9 km pour atteindre le chemin Taylor Brook – aussi un chemin de terre peu fréquenté (c.-à-d préparez-vous pour les heures d’attente). La sortie via le point D implique également la traversée de la rivière Nepisiquit, mais elle est trop profonde pour patauger. De manière réaliste, ce point d'accès est un point d'accès d'urgence uniquement et non une sortie pratique pour les randonneurs (sauf s'ils transportent un radeau gonflable...).

Qui devrait participer à des randonnées de plusieurs jours sur le sentier Mi’gmaq? La randonnée sur toute la longueur du sentier Mi’gmaq ne devrait être tentée que par des personnes en bonne forme physique, possédant de bonnes compétences en navigation dans la nature et qui ont de l’expérience en randonnée. Le terrain sur le sentier Mi’gmaq peut être difficile, en particulier sur le tronçon de 100 km situé entre le parc Mont-Carleton et le Nepisiguit Dam. Vous rencontrerez un terrain rocheux, escarpé et souvent en pente, car le sentier longe le bord de la rivière. Vous aurez besoin de naviguer dans la boue, les tourbières, les ruisseaux au courant rapide, sur les rochers instables, les arbres tombés et les rochers glissants. Il est recommandé qu’au moins une personne de votre groupe ait suivi une formation en secourisme en milieu sauvage. La zone est éloignée et en cas d'accident ou de blessure, il peut s'écouler plus de 24 heures avant l'arrivée de l'aide une fois que le détachement de la GRC de Bathurst a été informé (voir la section En cas d'urgence ci-dessous).

Les randonneurs débutants ne devraient pas faire de randonnée de plusieurs jours sur le sentier Mi’gmaq, en particulier sur la partie située entre le Parc Mont-Carleton et le Nepisiguit Dam. Les personnes qui se sont déjà blessées à la cheville, aux genoux, au dos ou à d’autres articulations peuvent se reblesser facilement au cours de la randonnée sur le sentier Mi’gmaq. Pour éviter des problèmes inutiles, testez votre force et votre endurance lors de randonnées plus courtes et moins exigeantes avant de parcourir toute la longueur du sentier Mi’gmaq. Les randonnées à deux ou en petit groupe sont fortement recommandées. Lorsque vous choisissez un groupe de randonneurs, assurez-vous de choisir des compagnons compatibles et de rester ensemble!

Il est fortement recommandé d'être équipé d'un GPS et d'un appareil SPOT ou INREACH. Assurez-vous de connaître le fonctionnement de ces appareils et de les avoir testés avant de parcourir le sentier Mi’gmaq. La couverture cellulaire pour la majeure partie du sentier n'est pas disponible!

Direction de la randonnée: Le sentier Mi’gmaq peut être parcouru dans les deux sens, bien que l’option la plus populaire semble être celle du parc Mont-Carleton à Daley Point en grande partie à cause du grand stationnement.

Saison de randonnée

  • Printemps - mi-juin au début juillet
    Avant la mi-juin, bon nombre des ruisseaux du sentier (environ 25) sont impassibles en raison de la fonte des neiges à haute altitude. Après la mi-juin, soyez au courant des conditions météorologiques qui pourraient affecter les niveaux d'eau. L'eau dans les ruisseaux est glaciale. Il est conseillé de porter des baskets légères lors des traversées afin de protéger les pieds du froid et des rochers et de maintenir les chaussures de randonnée au sec. Les gelées sont possibles. Les mouches noires rendront votre voyage misérable en juin sans protection adéquate.
  • Été - début juillet à fin août
    Pour de nombreux randonneurs, les températures plus clémentes de l’été en font le meilleur moment pour parcourir le sentier Mi’gmaq. Les niveaux d'eau baissent généralement de manière significative, ce qui facilite le passage des ruisseaux (les sandales légères sont toujours fortement recommandées). Attendez-vous à des mouches noires et des moustiques.
  • Automne - fin août à début octobre
    Des températures plus fraîches et moins d’insectes font de l’automne un excellent choix pour la randonnée sur le sentier Mi’gmaq. Attendez-vous à des conditions plus humides et à de possibles gelées nocturnes plus tard en septembre et en octobre.

Réservations – À l’heure actuelle, il n’est pas nécessaire de réserver pour faire de la randonnée sur le sentier Mi’gmaq. Si vous prévoyez à camper au parc Mont-Carleton veuillez consulter leur site Web pour se renseigner de la disponibilité et les frais. (https://www.tourismnewbrunswick.ca/Products/Parks/MountCarletonProvincialPark.aspx)

Frais – À l’heure actuelle, il n’existe aucun frais de randonnée sur le sentier Mi’gmaq, mais les dons faits via la page «Accueil» du site Web du Sentier (https://www.migmaqtrail.ca/fr) sont grandement appréciés. Les fonds seront utilisés pour entretenir et améliorer le sentier.

Inscription - À l’heure actuelle, il n’y a pas d’inscription pour la randonnée sur le sentier Mi’gmaq.

Service de navette: Les randonneurs parcourant toute la longueur du sentier Mi'gmaq devront organiser leur transport aller-retour, car le début et la fin de ce sentier sont d'une distance de 146 km (2,5 heures de route, dont 16 km à l'intérieur du Parc Mont-Carleton, pour atteindre le début / la fin du sentier). Nous vous recommandons de laisser votre voiture à l'arrivée et de vous organiser un conducteur pour vous emmener au début du parcours. Nepisiguit Adventures de Bathurst, NB peut offrir un service de navette (506-252-3050, https://www.nepisiguitadventures.com/index).

Fichiers de trace GPS: Une trace GPS pour le sentier Mi’gmaq n’est pas disponible pour le moment.

Cartes: Les cartes du sentier Mi’gmaq se trouvent sur le site Web du sentier Mi’gmaq, sous l’onglet Cartes. Cliquez ici. La piste est divisée en 20 segments avec une description de chacun et des informations sur les points d'accès et les fonctionnalités intéressantes.

Plan de voyage - Avant de partir pour votre randonnée, préparez un plan de voyage et laissez-le à une personne responsable (un ami ou un membre de la famille, par exemple). Détaillez où vous allez, avec qui, quand vous prévoyez être de retour et quoi faire si vous ne rentrez pas comme prévu. Consultez le site adventuresmart.ca pour obtenir des conseils sur la création d’un plan de voyage et des exemples de plans de voyage.

Premiers soins - La zone est isolée et en cas d'accident ou de blessure, l’arrivée de l'aide peut prendre plus de 24 heures une fois que les autorités ont été informées de votre situation (voir En cas d'urgence ci-dessous). Vous devez être autonome. Il est recommandé qu’au moins une personne du groupe reçoive une formation de secourisme en milieu sauvage. Emportez une trousse de premiers soins contre les ampoules, les coupures, les entorses, les brisures et les piqûres d’insectes.